Summer 2015 Update

3 Jul

Hi Everyone,

I am still writing critiques for the upcoming Odyssey workshop. I’ve done about 21,000 words of critique so far and anticipate writing about 19,000 more before I leave on July 24th. Many friends of mine think I’m crazy for doing this “for free” but they don’t understand how much critiquing other people’s work helps me edit my own work.

And “working” for a vacation is a totally foreign concept for many. It’s not that I consider it “fun”, it’s that I consider it “important”. These are the steps I’ve chosen to take to become a better writer.

I am lucky enough to be an acquaintance of Micheal J. Sullivan, author of the Ryiria fantasy series and the scifi “Hollow World” novel. But I want to bring your attention to Robin Sullivan, his wife and business manager. She’s is a true powerhouse in the digital publishing world and does a number of free speaking engagements during the year, many of them at the Arlington Library. Her last one on how to use GoodReads was an outstanding tutorial on how to market through this invaluable website. I highly recommend reading her blogs and attending these workshops.

I get a chance to teach a workshop myself this month. I’m running a two-dayworkshop on Saturdays, 11th and 18th, at the Sterling Branch of the Loudoun County Public Library, talking about how to write a short story. The workshop is open to the public and free so if you know anyone who’d like to attend, they don’t have to register or RSVP, just show up ready to write.

Then it’s off to the Odyssey workshop and a week-long master course on Plot. I’ll return August 1 and start planning in earnest for our August 10 B&N Writers Group picnic at Lake Anne picnic pavilion. Anybody have a creative idea for a game or excercise we could do? Have a great July, everyone. -Vern

__._,_.___
Posted by: vljiii@yahoo.com
Reply via web post • Reply to sender • Reply to group • Start a New Topic • Messages in this topic (1)
VISIT YOUR GROUP
Yahoo! Groups • Privacy • Unsubscribe • Terms of Use
.

__,_._,___

Leave a Reply

